• "kjhalleni" is male
  • "kjhalleni" started this thread

Date of registration: Jul 21st 2013

Language Team: Swedish

Focus Group: Translator

Sunday, July 21st 2013, 5:24pm

Introduction Kalle - Swedish translation team

Hi,

I'm part of the Swedish translator team. We're currently only three and I had hope to get in touch with the other two guys via this forum but they seem not to be hear yet. Am very anxious to get the book translated since the script/content of it is priceless :). I'll do what I can to help in any way I can, even though I'm an amateur.

Do any of you know if TVP has ever tried to use any crowdfunding to get professional translation of the book? From my point of view the book is very well written in English, and the TVP web site is also very well designed, as well as the videos and so on. To maintain the professional impression of TVP it is my belief the translations to additional languages need to be as good as the original. In other words, it is better not to release the book if it is not professionally translated, cause it then might do more harm than good.

I'm trying to get at least one professional translator involved for the translation into Swedish by sending 170 of them an e-mail, but it seem, so far, hard to get one for free (even though some became interested in TVP). So I began thinking of funding options and found these crowdfunding sites (see further down). If you like the idea I guess it is best if the project ask for funding to cover for the languages needed, instead of me asking to fund just the Swedish translation.

Any comments are more than welcome. :smiley:

www.kickstarter.com
www.indiegogo.com

http://invested.in

Hugs to all :bighug:
Karl =)

43 guests thanked already.
  • "lizardman" is male

Date of registration: Jun 3rd 2011

Language Team: Bulgarian

Focus Group: Translation Proofreader
LTI Administration Group

Sunday, July 21st 2013, 7:31pm

Hi Karl,

Welcome!