You are not logged in.

• "angela1975" started this thread

Date of registration: Aug 27th 2016

Language Team: English

Focus Group: English Transcriber

Saturday, August 27th 2016, 12:29am

Hello!

Hi!

I would like to help with English transcription! Who could I contact to find out how to get started? I have some experience doing transcription from some time ago when I was assisting with research about how children learn scientific concepts. Conversations with students were recorded, and I transcribed those conversations. I also have some experience writing and proofreading letters at a previous job.

Thank you!

Angela

25 guests thanked already.

Date of registration: Jul 11th 2013

Language Team: Portuguese (Europe)

Focus Group: Translator
Translation Proofreader
Final Reviewer
Language Team Assistant

Saturday, August 27th 2016, 10:05pm

Hello Angela, welcome aboard!

I Think @Mr_Z: will be able to assist you.

Cheers!

28 guests thanked already.
  • "Mr_Z" is male

Date of registration: Dec 24th 2011

Language Team: English

Focus Group: English Proofreader
Final Reviewer
Language Coordinator

Sunday, August 28th 2016, 8:23pm

Greetings Angela! And welcome to the family.

Yes, a good transcript is the foundation to a well-captioned video. So if we are really lucky, we get the original transcript from the actual speaker, but this is the exception. If not available, what I personally do is to work from youtube auto-translations as a base. Typically every YT vid has such auto-genned captions (seen by clicking the 'CC' button), and the clearer the speaker is with his/her English, the better the quality, albeit without sentence breaks (periods), punctuation and capitalization.