You are not logged in.

• "orion37" is female
  • "orion37" started this thread

Date of registration: Jul 22nd 2012

Language Team: English

Focus Group: English Transcriber

Sunday, July 22nd 2012, 3:03pm

Greetings- any American Sign Language users out there??

Hello, my name is Sharon Collier. I am a student in college majoring in American Sign Language Interpreting. I have been interested for quite some time in translating serviceable information that benefits humanity as a whole into ASL. I am willing to collaborate with others who have skills in interpreting/translating/transliterating English to American Sign Language. Please feel free to contact me here or through email at orionsc37@hotmail.com. I am excited to be part of this forum!

Cheers,
Sharon

2 registered users and 43 guests thanked already.

Users who thanked for this post:

brunodc, nomada

• "brunodc" is male

Date of registration: May 31st 2011

Language Team: French

Focus Group: Translator
Translation Proofreader
Language Coordinator
LTI Administration Group
LTI Development Group

Sunday, July 22nd 2012, 4:39pm

Hello Sharon, our experience with ASL is rather limited, and I'm afraid we lack the kinds of resources that would be needed in order to create versions of our materials that would really appeal to the deaf communities out there.

What we've been trying to do, on the other hand, is to make our captions more accessible by following some of the guidelines as published by the Described and Captioned Media Program.

We'd be grateful if you could provide us with any insights that would allow us to make our materials even more accessible, because we haven't been receiving a whole lot of input or feedback on this issue ever since we started taking our captioning work seriously.

Hugs! :bighug:

2 registered users and 44 guests thanked already.

nomada, orion37

• "orion37" is female
  • "orion37" started this thread

Date of registration: Jul 22nd 2012

Focus Group: English Transcriber