You are not logged in.

• "ThorHusby" started this thread

Date of registration: Aug 15th 2014

Language Team: Norwegian, English, Native language: Norwegian.

Focus Group: English Proofreader
Translator
Translation Proofreader
Language Team Assistant

Saturday, August 16th 2014, 3:43pm

Hello from volunteer in Norway

Hello everybody!

I'm Thor from Norway. I'm excited to join this group of fine folks. I haven't transcribed anything before, but I think I would be able to do it. I just got somewhat familiar with the tools of dotSUB so I'm ready to have a go at a video. My native language is norwegian, but I'm fairly proficient in English, so I'm hoping to transcribe in English.

I've browsed through a couple dozen videos in the *Video working locations' page and it seems that most of the videos there have a 100 percent captions in English. Is there an easy way to find videos (short ones, since I'm a noob) that isn't fully transcribed? And how do I know if anyone is planning on transcribing any video that I find? Is there a thread for that?

Thank you, guys. Eager to get started.

:)

1 registered user and 49 guests thanked already.

Users who thanked for this post:

FrankySnatra

• "lizardman" is male

Date of registration: Jun 3rd 2011

Language Team: Bulgarian

Focus Group: Translation Proofreader
LTI Administration Group

Saturday, August 16th 2014, 6:06pm

Hello Thor,

Nice to meet you. :)

On the main forum page, you can scroll down until you reach the English Dep't section where you will see all current activity related to transcribing and proofreading of English subtitles. Take a look at a few threads there to get a sense of the workflow we utilize (each video goes through several rounds of work on the English subs until it is ready for other language teams to translate it).

I'd also suggest that you take a look at the guidelines before starting any work.