You are not logged in.

  • "Christos Pap." is male
  • "Christos Pap." started this thread

Posts: 723

Date of registration: Nov 21st 2012

Language Team: Greek

Focus Group: Final Reviewer
Language Coordinator

Location: Thessaloniki, Greece

Thanks: 28640 / 76

  • Send private message

1

Thursday, April 16th 2015, 1:32pm

Should inactive members have access to Pootle projects?

I've noticed that some formerly inactive Greek members started proofreading texts in Pootle without letting others know (by submitting it in the forum). This way, no-one can know who is translating what, thus making it difficult for the team to know the status of the project. That's why I thought I should deprive inactive members of translation (suggestion) rights in Pootle until they contact the team again. Do you think this is a good way to handle this situation? Any ideas?
Signature from »Christos Pap.« To come to the meetings, install teamspeak from HERE and then press HERE to be transferred directly, and look for the "Linguistic Team" Channel.

1 registered user and 54 guests thanked already.

Users who thanked for this post:

Ray

  • "lizardman" is male

Posts: 568

Date of registration: Jun 3rd 2011

Language Team: Bulgarian

Focus Group: Translation Proofreader
LTI Administration Group

Location: Plovdiv, Bulgaria

Thanks: 22584 / 483

  • Send private message

2

Friday, April 17th 2015, 11:49am

Personally I set up with Submit and Suggest access only the people who are actively working on a project. Everybody else has View. That way it is ensured that people don't step on each others' toes.

1 registered user and 56 guests thanked already.

Users who thanked for this post:

Ray

  • "Christos Pap." is male
  • "Christos Pap." started this thread

Posts: 723

Date of registration: Nov 21st 2012

Language Team: Greek

Focus Group: Final Reviewer
Language Coordinator

Location: Thessaloniki, Greece

Thanks: 28640 / 76

  • Send private message

3

Friday, April 17th 2015, 12:32pm

Thought so. I switched it to "view" so that the LTI doesn't keep getting emails asking for permission :)
Signature from »Christos Pap.« To come to the meetings, install teamspeak from HERE and then press HERE to be transferred directly, and look for the "Linguistic Team" Channel.

1 registered user and 48 guests thanked already.

Users who thanked for this post:

Ray

  • "Ray" is male

Posts: 1,124

Date of registration: May 23rd 2011

Language Team: Global

Focus Group: LTI Administration Group

Location: Michigan, US

Thanks: 43040 / 6486

  • Send private message

4

Friday, April 17th 2015, 9:53pm

The recommendation to all coordinators/project managers is to provide new members with View & Suggest (but not Submit), at first.

After later reviewing their work and determining their skill levels with various aspects of translating, the coordinator should connect with them and clearly describe the destructive nature of the Submit permission prior to providing the member with it.
This has the dual benefit of allowing new members to get accustomed to working within Pootle without worry about overwriting anyone else's efforts, while also providing them with a built-in reminder that the coordinator is just a message away to handle any questions they might have while they are acclimating to their 'new-to-them' team. Every connection with the coordinator &/or veterans of the team helps to reinforce their connection to the team, the team's activities & goals, the resources available to them, etc., while also allowing the coordinator or veteran to help guide the new member along the path toward eventually becoming a team veteran him or herself.

The coordinator should also build up a sense of each member's strengths & weaknesses, so they (along with team veterans) can help them maximize their strengths and strengthen their weaknesses over time, building up confidence all around.


When a project is ready for proofreading, the recommendation is to switch everyone over to View-only, except for those who will be proofreading the completed translation. Any non-proofreader looking to join a project beyond this point is then given View-only, since there is nothing for them to do in the project.


And finally, when a project has moved through all proofreading rounds and is confirmed ready for distribution (final review completed), everyone is switched to View-Only, to preserve its 'completed' state and protect everyone's hard work on that project. The coords/project manager then also creates a ToDo in the forum to kick start the global distribution processes. Anyone asking to join a project beyond this point is given View-only, since there is nothing for them to do in the project.
Signature from »Ray« Earth For Sale:
Slightly Used; inquire within

1 registered user and 47 guests thanked already.

Users who thanked for this post:

Christos Pap.

© Linguistic Team International 2018
Context In Motion